What Should Concerned Parents Do?

If you are a concerned Charlotte-Mecklenburg School parent you are encouraged to do the following:

Answer

CMS-dress-min.jpg

Contact Your Child's School

- Contact the principal and teacher(s) your child’s school and ask if the Welcoming Schools program is being implemented and demand to know more about the program. NC Values Coalition has learned that Welcoming Schools is slated to be rolled out at 12 CMS elementary schools this school year. Contact your school to find out if your child will be taught this curriculum and voice your opposition to it. 

Attend an Upcoming CMS Board Meeting:

Speak to the Board an an upcoming meeting. (See Full Schedule of CMS Public Meetings at http://www.cms.k12.nc.us/boe/Pages/AdditionalMeetings.aspx)

- September 12th, 6PM at Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center
- September 26th, 6PM at Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center
- October 10th, 6PM at Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center
- October 24th, 6PM at Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center
- November 14th, 6PM at Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center
- December 12th, 6PM at Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center

Contact the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools

(1) Reach out to Earnest Winston, Chief Community Relations and Engagement/Ombudsman Officerearnest.winston@cms.k12.nc.us with concerns about the implementation of this program in CMS Elementary schools

(2) Request a meeting with Dr. Clayton Wilcox, Superintendentclaytonm.wilcox@cms.k12.nc.us, to share your concerns about Welcoming Schools being implemented in CMS Elementary schools.

(3) Find out your School Board Member's position on Welcoming Schools before the November 7th municipal elections. Many school boards are filled during this election. 

Contact the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education:   

Board Member

 Call

 Send a Fax

Email

Mary T. McCray, Chairperson 

704-281-6074

980-343-7128

maryt.mccray@cms.k12.nc.us

Elyse C. Dashew, Vice-Chairperson

704-659-6994

980-343-7128

elysec.dashew@cms.k12.nc.us

Ericka Ellis-Stewart, At-Large

704-412-8565

980-343-7128

ericka.ellis-stewart@cms.k12.nc.us

Rhonda Lennon, District 1

980-231-1465

980-343-7128

rhonda.lennon@cms.k12.nc.us

Thelma Byers-Bailey, District 2

980-272-1943

980-343-7128

thelmab.bailey@cms.k12.nc.us

Ruby M. Jones, District 3

704-579-1763

980-343-7128

rubym.jones@cms.k12.nc.us

Tom Tate, District 4

704-502-3093

980-343-7128

tom.tate@cms.k12.nc.us

Eric C. Davis, District 5

704-651-0217

980-343-7128

ericc.davis@cms.k12.nc.us

Paul Bailey, District 6

704-519-9096

980-343-7128

paul1.bailey@cms.k12.nc.us

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

North Carolina School Superintendents:

List of North Carolina School Superintendents and Addresses  
             
Name Superintendent Mailing/Physical Address City Zip Telephone Email Address
Alamance-Burlington Dr Bill Harrison 1712 Vaughn Rd Burlington 27217 (336) 570-6060 williamc_harrison@abss.k12.nc.us
Alexander County Dr Jennifer Hefner 700 Liledoun Rd Taylorsville 28681 (828) 632-7001 jhefner@alexander.k12.nc.us
Alleghany County Mr Chad Beasley 85 Peachtree St Sparta 28675 (336) 372-4345 chad.beasley@alleghany.k12.nc.us
Anson County Mr Michael Freeman 320 Camden Rd Wadesboro 28170 (704) 694-4417 freeman.michael@anson.k12.nc.us
Ashe County Ms Phyllis Yates 320 South St Jefferson 28640 (336) 246-7175 phyllis.yates@ashe.k12.nc.us
Asheboro City Dr Terry Worrell 1126 S Park St Asheboro 27204 (336) 625-5104 tworrell@asheboro.k12.nc.us
Asheville City Dr Bobbie Short, Interim 85 Mountain St Asheville 28802 (828) 350-7000 bobbie.short@acsgmail.net
Avery County Dr David Burleson 775 Cranberry St Newland 28657 (828) 733-6006 davidburleson@averyschools.net
Beaufort County Dr Don Phipps 321 Smaw Rd Washington 27889 (252) 946-6593 dphipps@beaufort.k12.nc.us
Bertie County Dr Steven Hill 222 County Farm Rd Windsor 27983 (252) 794-6014 shill@bertie.k12.nc.us
Bladen County Dr Robert Taylor Hwy 701 S Elizabethtown 28337 (910) 862-4136 rtaylor@bladen.k12.nc.us
Brunswick County Mr Les Tubb 35 Referendum Dr Bolivia 28422 (910) 253-2981 ltubb@bcswan.net
Buncombe County Dr Tony Baldwin 175 Bingham Rd Asheville 28806 (828) 255-5921 tony.baldwin@bcsemail.org
Burke County Dr Larry Putnam 700 E Parker Rd Morganton 28680 (828) 439-4312 lputnam@burke.k12.nc.us
Cabarrus County Dr Chris Lowder 4401 Old Airport Rd Concord 28026 (704) 262-6191 christopher.lowder@cabarrus.k12.nc.us
Caldwell County Dr Steve Stone  1914 Hickory Blvd SW Lenoir 28645 (828) 728-8407 sstone@caldwellschools.com
Camden County Dr Travis Twiford, Interim 174 NC Hwy 343 N Camden 27921 (252) 335-0831 ttwiford@camden.k12.nc.us
Carteret County Mr Mat Bottoms 107 Safrit Dr Beaufort 28516 (252) 728-4583 mat.bottoms@carteretk12.org
Caswell County Dr Sandra Carter 353 County Home Rd Yanceyville 27379 (336) 694-4116 sandra.carter@caswell.k12.nc.us
Catawba County Dr Matt Stover 10 E 25th St Newton 28658 (828) 464-8333 matt_stover@catawbaschools.net
Chapel Hill-Carrboro Dr Pam Baldwin 750 S Merritt Mill Rd Chapel Hill 27516 (919) 967-8211 pbaldwin@chccs.k12.nc.us
Charlotte-Mecklenburg County Dr Clayton Wilcox 600 East Fourth St, Fifth Floor Charlotte 28202 (980) 343-3000 claytonm.wilcox@cms.k12.nc.us
Chatham County Dr Derrick Jordan 369 West St Pittsboro 27312 (919) 542-3626 djordan@chatham.k12.nc.us
Cherokee County Dr Jeana Conley 911 Andrews Rd Murphy 28906 (828) 837-2722 superintendent@cherokee.k12.nc.us
Clay County Dr Mark Leek 154 Yellow Jacket Dr Hayesville 28904 (828) 389-8513 mleek@clayschools.org
Cleveland County Dr Stephen Fisher 400 W. Marion St Shelby 28150 (704) 476-8026 srfisher@clevelandcountyschools.org
Clinton City Dr Stuart Blount 300 Westover Rd Clinton 28328 (910) 592-3132 sblount@clinton.k12.nc.us
Columbus County Mr Alan Faulk 817 Washington St Whiteville 28472 (910) 642-5168 alanfaulk@columbus.k12.nc.us
Craven County Dr Meghan Doyle 3600 Trent Rd New Bern 28562 (252) 514-6300 meghan.doyle@cravenk12.org
Cumberland County Mr Tim Kinlaw, Interim 2465 Gillespie St Fayetteville 28302 (910) 678-2312 timk@ccs.k12.nc.us
Currituck County Mr Mark Stefanik 2958 Caratoke Hwy Currituck 27929 (252) 232-2223 mstefanik@currituck.k12.nc.us
Dare County Mr John Farrelly 3020 Wrightsville Ave Nags Head 27959 (252) 480-8888 farrellyjo@daretolearn.org
Davidson County Dr Lory Morrow 250 County School Rd Lexington 27293 (336) 249-8181 lorymorrow@davidson.k12.nc.us
Davie County Dr Darrin Hartness 220 Cherry St Mocksville 27028 (336) 751-5921 hartnessd@davie.k12.nc.us
Duplin County Dr Austin Obasohan PO Box 128 Kenansville 28349 (910) 296-1521 aobasohan@duplinschools.net
Durham County Dr Bert L'Homme 511 Cleveland St Durham 27702 (919) 560-2000 bert.lhomme@dpsnc.net
Edenton/Chowan Dr Rob Jackson 406 W Queen St Edenton 27932 (252) 482-4436 rjackson@ecps.k12.nc.us
Edgecombe County Mr John Farrelly 412 Pearl St Tarboro 27886 (252) 641-2600 jfarrelly@ecps.us
Elkin City Dr. Myra Cox 202 West Spring St Elkin 28621 (336) 835-3135 coxm@elkin.k12.nc.us
Winston-Salem/Forsyth Dr Beverly Emory 475 Corporate Square Dr Winston-Salem 27103 (336) 727-2816 bremory@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
Franklin County Dr Pascal Mubenga 53 West River Rd Louisburg 27549 (919) 496-2600 pascalmubenga@fcschools.net
Gaston County Mr Jeff Booker  943 Osceola St Gastonia 28053 (704) 866-6100 jbooker@gaston.k12.nc.us
Gates County Dr Barry Williams 205 Main St Gatesville 27938 (252) 357-1113 williamsb@gatescountyschools.net
Graham County Ms Angela Knight 52 Moose Branch Rd Robbinsville 28771 (828) 479-3413 aknight@graham.k12.nc.us
Granville County Dr Dorwin Howard Sr. 101 Delacroix St Oxford 27565 (919) 693-4613 howardd@gcs.k12.nc.us
Greene County Dr Patrick Miller 301 Kingold Blvd Snow Hill 28580 (252) 747-3425 patrickmiller@greene.k12.nc.us
Guilford County Dr Sharon Contreras  712 N Eugene St Greensboro 27402 (336) 370-8100 contres@gcsnc.com
Halifax County Dr Eric Cunningham  9525 Hwy 301 S Halifax 27839 (252) 583-5111 cunninghame@halifax.k12.nc.us
Harnett County Mr Aaron Fleming 1008 Eleventh St Lillington 27546 (910) 893-8151 afleming@harnett.k12.nc.us
Haywood County Dr Anne Garrett 1230 N Main St Waynesville 28786 (828) 456-2400 anne@haywood.k12.nc.us
Henderson County Mr Bo Caldwell 414 4th Ave W Hendersonville 28739 (828) 697-4733 hrcaldwell@hcpsnc.org
Hertford County Dr William Wright Jr. 701 N Martin St Winton 27986 (252) 358-1761 wtwright@hertford.k12.nc.us
Hickory City Dr Robbie Adell 432 4th Ave SW Hickory 28602 (828) 322-2855 adellro@hickoryschools.net
Hoke County Dr Freddie Williamson 310 Wooley St Raeford 28376 (910) 875-4106 fwilliamson@hcs.k12.nc.us
Hyde County Dr Randolph Latimore 1430 Main St Swan Quarter 27885 (252) 926-3281 rlatimore@hyde.k12.nc.us 
Iredell-Statesville Mr Brady Johnson 549 N Race St Statesville 28687 (704) 872-8931 bjohnson@iss.k12.nc.us
Jackson County Dr Mike Murray 398 Hospital Rd Sylva 28779 (828) 586-2311 mmurray@jcpsmail.org
Johnston County Dr Ross Renfrow PO Box 1336 Smithfield 27577 (919) 934-6031 rossrenfrow@johnston.k12.nc.us
Jones County Dr Michael Bracy 320 W Jones St Trenton 28585 (252) 448-2531 michael.bracy@jonesnc.net
Kannapolis City Dr Chip Buckwell 100 Denver Street Kannapolis 28083 (704) 938-1131 chip.buckwell@kcs.k12.nc.us
Lee County Dr Andy Bryan 106 Gordon St Sanford 27331 (919) 774-6226 abryan@lee.k12.nc.us
Lenoir County Dr Brent Williams  2017 W Vernon Ave Kinston 28502 (252) 527-1109 bwilliams@lenoir.k12.nc.us
Lexington City Mr Rick Kriesky 1010 Fair St Lexington 27292 (336) 242-1527 rkriesky@lexcs.org
Lincoln County Dr Sherry Hoyle  353 N Generals Blvd Lincolnton 28093 (704) 732-2261 shoyle@lincoln.k12.nc.us
Macon County Dr Chris Baldwin 1202 Old Murphy Rd Franklin 28734 (828) 524-3314 chris.baldwin@macon.k12.nc.us
Madison County Dr Jim Causby, Interim 5738 US 25-70 Hwy Marshall 28753 (828) 649-9276 jcausby@madisonk12.net
Martin County Dr Chris Mansfield 300 N Watts Street Williamston 27892 (252) 792-1575 cmansfield@martin.k12.nc.us
McDowell County Mr Mark Garrett 334 S Main St Marion 28752 (828) 652-4535 mark.garrett@mcdowell.k12.nc.us
Mitchell County Mr Chad Calhoun 72 Ledger School Rd Bakersville 28705 (828) 766-2220 chadcalhoun@mcsnc.org
Montgomery County Dr Dale Ellis PO Box 427 Troy 27371 (910) 576-6511 dale.ellis@montgomery.k12.nc.us
Moore County Dr Robert Grimesey Jr 5277 Hwy 15-501 S Carthage 28327 (910) 947-2976 rgrimesey@ncmcs.org
Mooresville City Dr Stephen Mauney 305 N Main St Mooresville 28115 (704) 658-2530 smauney@mgsd.k12.nc.us
Mount Airy City Dr Kim Morrison 130 Rawley Ave Mount Airy 27030 (336) 786-8355 kmorrison@mtairy.k12.nc.us
Nash-Rocky Mount Dr Shelton Jefferies 930 Eastern Ave Nashville 27856 (252) 459-5220 sljefferies@nrms.k12.nc.us
New Hanover County Dr Tim Markley 6410 Carolina Beach Rd Wilmington 28412 (910) 763-5431 tim.markley@nhcs.net
Newton-Conover Dr David Stegall 605 North Ashe Ave Newton 28658 (828) 464-3191 david_stegall@nccs.k12.nc.us
Northampton County Dr Monica Smith-Woofter 701 N Church St Jackson 27845 (252) 534-1371 smith-woofterm@northampton.k12.nc.us
Onslow County Mr Rick Stout 200 Broadhurst Rd Jacksonville 28540 (910) 455-2211 rick.stout@onslow.k12.nc.us
Orange County Dr Todd Wirt 200 E King St Hillsborough 272780 (919) 732-8126 todd.wirt@orange.k12.nc.us
Pamlico County Ms Lisa Jackson 507 Anderson Dr Bayboro 28515 (252) 745-4171 lisajackson@pamlicoschools.org
Elizabeth City / Pasquotank County Dr Larry Cartner 1200 S Halstead Blvd Elizabeth City 27906 (252) 335-2981 lcartner@ecpps.k12.nc.us
Pender County Dr Terri Cobb 925 Penderlea Hwy Burgaw 28425 (910) 259-2187 terri_cobb@pender.k12.nc.us
Perquimans County Mr Matthew Cheeseman 411 Edenton Road St Hertford 27944 (252) 426-5741 matthewcheeseman@pcs.k12.nc.us
Person County Dr Rodney Peterson 304 S Morgan Street, Rm 25 Roxboro 27573 (336) 599-2191 petersonr@person.k12.nc.us
Pitt County Dr Ethan Lenker 1717 W 5th St Greenville 27834 (252) 830-4200 lenkere@pitt.k12.nc.us
Polk County Mr Aaron Greene 125 E Mills Street Columbus 28722 (828) 894-3051 agreene@polkschools.org
Randolph County Dr Stephen Gainey 2222-C S Fayetteville St Asheboro 27205 (336) 318-6100 sgainey@randolph.k12.nc.us
Richmond County Dr Cindy Goodman 118 Vance St Hamlet 28345 (910) 582-5860 cindygoodman@richmond.k12.nc.us
Roanoke Rapids Dr Dain Butler 536 Hamilton St Roanoke Rapids 27870 (252) 519-7100 butlerd.co@rrgsd.org
Robeson County Dr Shanita Wooten - Interim 410 Caton Rd Lumberton 28359 (910) 671-6000 shanita.wooten@robeson.k12.nc.us
Rockingham County Dr Rodney Shotwell 511 Harrington Hwy Eden 27288 (336) 627-2600 rshotwell@rock.k12.nc.us
Rowan-Salisbury Dr Lynn Moody 314 North Ellis St Salisbury 28145 (704) 636-7500 moodyl@rss.k12.nc.us
Rutherford County Dr Janet Mason 382 West Main St Forest City 28043 (828) 245-0252 jmason@rcsnc.org
Sampson County Dr Eric Bracy 437 Rowan Rd Clinton 28329 (910) 592-1401 ebracy@sampson.k12.nc.us
Scotland County Dr Ron Hargrave  322 S Main St Laurinburg 28352 (910) 276-1138 rhargrave@scotland.k12.nc.us
Stanly County Mr Bill Josey 1000-4 N First St Albemarle 28001 (704) 983-5151 bill.josey@stanlycountyschools.org
Stokes County Dr Brad Rice 100 Courthouse Cir Danbury 27016 (336) 593-8146 brad.rice@stokes.k12.nc.us
Surry County Dr Travis Reeves 209 N Crutchfield St Dobson 27017 (336) 386-8211 reevest@surry.k12.nc.us
Swain County Mr Sam Pattillo 280 School Dr Bryson City 28713 (828) 488-3129 spattillo@swainmail.org
Thomasville City Dr Patrice Faison 400 Turner St Thomasville 27360 (336) 474-4200 faisonp@tcs.k12.nc.us
Transylvania County Dr Jeff McDaris 225 Rosenwald Ln Brevard 28712 (828) 884-6173 jmcdaris@tcsnc.org
Tyrrell County Dr Will Hoffman 210 N Road St Columbia 27925 (252) 796-1121 whoffman@tycomail.net
Union County Dr Andrew Houlihan 400 North Church St Monroe 28112 (704) 296-0766 andrew.houlihan@ucps.k12.nc.us
Vance County Dr Anthony Jackson 1724 Graham Ave Henderson 27536 (252) 492-2127 ajackson@vcs.k12.nc.us
Wake County Dr Jim Merrill 5625 Dillard Drive Cary 27518 (919) 431-7550 jmerrill@wcpss.net
Warren County Dr Ray Spain 109 Cousin Lucy's Ln Warrenton 27589 (252) 257-3184 rspain@warrenk12nc.org
Washington County Ms Fannie Williams, Interim 802 Washington St Plymouth 27962 (252) 793-5171 fwilliams@wcsnc.org
Watauga County Dr Scott Elliott 175 Pioneer Trl Boone 28607 (828) 264-7190 elliotts@watauga.k12.nc.us
Wayne County Dr Michael Dunsmore 2001 E Royall Ave Goldsboro 27533 (919) 731-5900 mikedunsmore@wcps.org
Weldon City Dr Anitra Wells 301 Mulberry St Weldon 27890 (252) 536-4821 wellsanitra@weldoncityschools.k12.nc.us
Whiteville City Mr Kenny Garland 107 W Walter St Whiteville 28472 (910) 642-4116 kgarland@whiteville.k12.nc.us
Wilkes County Mr Mark Byrd 613 Cherry St North Wilkesboro 28659 (336) 667-1121 byrdma@wilkes.k12.nc.us
Wilson County Dr Lane Mills 117 N E Tarboro St Wilson 27894 (252) 399-7700 lane.mills@wilsonschoolsnc.net
Yadkin County Dr Todd Martin 121 Washington St Yadkinville 27055 (336) 679-2051 todd.martin@yadkin.k12.nc.us
Yancey County Dr Tony Tipton 100 School Cir Burnsville 28714 (828) 682-6101 ttipton@yanceync.net
             
State Schools            
NC Dept of Health & Human Services Ms Kathy Blankenship 3006 Mail Service Center Raleigh 27699 (919) 855-4700 kathy.blankenship@dhhs.nc.gov
NC Dept of Public Safety - Division of Juvenile Justice Mr Adam Johnson 4212 Mail Service Center Raleigh 27699 (919) 324-6420 adam.johnson@ncdps.gov
             
Federal Schools            
Cherokee Central School Mr Scott Penland PO Box 134 Cherokee 28719 (828) 554-5000 spenland@cherokeecentral.gaggle.net
North Carolina Fort Bragg District Dr Renee Butler PO Box 70089 Fort Bragg 28307 (910) 907-0200 Supt.NCDistrict@am.dodea.edu
Camp Lejeune Schools Mr Todd Curkendall 855 Stone St Camp Lejeune 28547 (910) 451-2461 todd.curkendall@am.dodea.edu
             
RESAs            
Northwest RESA Dr  Joseph R  Sinclair 1700 Winkler St., Ste 10 Wilkesboro 28697 (336) 667-2191 edusolutions1@yahoo.com
Piedmont Triad Ed Consortium Lillie Cox PO Box 157 Clemmons 27012 (336) 712-3393 coxlillie@att.net
Southeast Education Alliance Dr Kathy Spencer PO Box 1116 Sneads Ferry 28460 (910) 330-2441 sealliance16@gmail.com
Northeast RESA Dr Dwayne Stallings 330 SeeView Ln Hertford 27944 (252) 331-9801 dwaynekstallings56@gmail.com
Western RESA Dr Jan Webster 1456 Sand Hill Rd Enka 27828 (828) 418-0011 jwebster@wresa.org
Central Carolina RESA Dr Neil Pedersen 7208 Falls of Neuse Rd, Ste 104 Raleigh 27615 (919) 882-5951 director@ccresa.net
Southwest Education Alliance Dr Ric Vandett 65 40th Avenue Dr NE Hickory 28601 (828) 302-0293 drvandett@gmail.com
Sandhills Region Education Consortium Dr  Jim Simeon 49 Paddock Ln Southern Pines 28387 (910) 693-9910 jsimeon@nc.rr.com
Roanoke River Valley Consortium Dr Sammie Campbell Parrish 6620 Chapel Crossing Williamsburg, Va 23188 (757) 220-8052 sammiemarye@gmail.com
             
             
             
            Updated  July 1, 2017